Pollinator Trail 6


Butterflies have three main body parts. Choose the correct three body parts.

You are correct.
Well done!

Hmmm... that's not right.

A butterfly is a flying insect that begins life as a caterpillar.

The insect body is divided into three parts: the head, thorax, and abdomen.

The head is specialized for sensory input and food intake; the thorax, which is the anchor point for the legs and wings (if present), is specialized for locomotion; and the abdomen for digestion, respiration, excretion, and reproduction.

There are more than 10,000 species of butterflies worldwide. They are usually plant eaters.

They experience four stages of life: egg, larva (caterpillar), pupa, and adult. The pupa stage is when a butterfly builds a chrysalis around itself and goes through metamorphosis from larva to adult.

Trail Location

what3words: castle.aspect.begin